lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy
                                lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy

starting a market

Winora
eBike product range 2011

background

im jahr 2009 bestand der noch sehr kleine ebike-markt überwiegend aus pedelecs, die sich an senioren richteten. ebikes standen noch nicht auf den radarschirmen der öffentlichkeit und wenn, dann als mobilitätshilfen für ältere menschen. ebikes, oder pedelecs, wie sie damals genannt wurden, waren ziemlich unsexy. dementsprechend waren die verkaufszahlen der branche. dessen ungeachtet, erkannte Susanne Puello, geschäftsführerin der Winora Group, schon zu diesem zeitpunkt das große potenzial dieser neuen produktkategorie. nachdem die Puellos zusammen mit Kucher&Thusbass das town: exp, eines der ersten lifestyle-ebikes, entwickelt hatten, beschlossen sie, das thema konsequent anzugehen und die treibende kraft in der branche zu werden. K&T wurden eingeladen, bei der planung und gestaltung der produktpalette, sowie der entsprechenden kommunikation unterstützend mitzuwirken.

the solution

2010, ein jahr später, stellte Winora ein revolutionäres produktsortiment vor. revolutionär aus zweierlei gründen: erstens aus produkt- und marketingstrategischer sicht - das sortiment sprach zum ersten mal explizit die bedürfnisse unterschiedlicher, bislang nicht adressierter zielgruppen an und bot mit den segmenten comfort, family, sportive und urban entsprechende, zielgerichtete funktionen und stilstatements an. eine wegweisende sortimentsstruktur, die zum blueprint für kommende planungs-, vertriebs- und marketingmodelle der branche wurde.

zweitens, aus designstrategischer sicht - Winora führte eine minimalistische designsprache ein, die neue impulse im markt setzte. es war ein markantes stilstatement - demokratisch und exklusiv zugleich. das design verfolgte die zielsetzung, das wenig attraktive image des pedelecs zu einem angesagten lifestyle-produkt zu wandeln. dass dieser imagewandel des pedelecs dann länger dauerte als gehofft, sei an dieser stelle erwähnt. doch die Winora designsprache wurde zu einem einflussreichen trendsetter im ebike design.

ein zusätzlicher, willkommener nebeneffekt war, dass die Winora-Gruppe mit der entwicklung dieses innovativen sortiments viele wertvolle erfahrungen sammelte, welche den grundstein für den späteren erfolg von Haibike und anderen marken der Winora-Gruppe legte.

our involvement

_brand- and product range strategy

_design strategy

_product design

_brand- and product communication

design awards

IF Product Design Award 2012
Red Dot Design Award 2013

                    lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy

"Lutz und Alex waren wunderbare Sparringspartner, die uns dabei geholfen haben Winora, Haibike und ebikes per se, neu zu denken und zu gestalten."

Susanne Puello, former CEO, Winora Group & Haibike

lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy, brand experience, customer experience, experience design, disruptive mobility,
                                lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy, brand experience, customer experience, experience design, disruptive mobility,

starting a market

Winora
eBike product range 2011

background

in 2009 the ebike market consisted predominantly of low-boarder pedelecs that were addressing senior citizens. ebikes were not yet on the radar screens of the public, and if then, as mobility aids for old people. ebikes, or pedelecs as they were called then, were very unsexy. accordingly were the overall sales figures of the industry. nevertheless, Susanne Puello, CEO of the Winora Group, saw the huge potential of pedelecs/ebikes already then. so, after having successfully developed together with Kucher&Thusbass the town:exp, a first lifestyle ebike, the Puellos decided to become the e-driving force in the industry. K&T was asked to help them plan and design the product range, as well as the corresponding communication.

the solution

in 2010 Winora introduced a revolutionary product range. revolutionary for two reasons: first, from a marketing strategic and product planning point of view - the range addressed for the first time explicitly the needs of different target groups. it was segmented in comfort, family, sportive and urban and offered corresponding targeted functionalities. the structure of the product range became the trendsetting blueprint for planning-, sales- and marketing models in the industry.

second, from a design strategic perspective – Winora introduced an iconic, minimalistic design language, that set new standards in the market. it was a style statement - democratic and exclusive at the same time. the design had the mission to change the image of the pedelec and turn them into a lifestyle product. eventually, this took a few years longer, but the design language became an influential trendsetter in the market.

ultimately, the new product range had an undeniable impact on the way people - manufacturers, retailers, consumers - have been perceiving e-bikes from then on.
an additional benefit of this innovative endeavor was, that the Winora Group gained with the development of this range a head start into e-bikes, which laid the foundation for the subsequent success of Haibike and other Winora Group brands.

our involvement

_brand- and product range strategy

_design strategy

_product design

_brand- and product communication


design awards

IF Product Design Award 2012
Red Dot Design Award 2013

                    lutz, kucher, consulting, design, strategy, design thinking, market innovation, product range, brand strategy, design strategy, brand experience, customer experience, experience design, disruptive mobility,